Mysuru Dasara elephants list released: District In-charge Minister releases program details

Mysuru, September 8, 2021 ( The State Government has decided to keep the historic Mysuru Dasara celebrations as a low-key affair this year also. In the meantime, the list of elephants that will take part in the celebrations was released today by District In-charge Minister S.T. Somashekar.
The Dasara Executive Committee meeting was held at Ambavilas palace auditorium today. The list of elephants that will take part in this year’s Dasara Mahotsav are as follows: Abhimanyu (lead), Gopalaswamy of Mattigodu camp, Vikram from Anekaadu camp, Kaveri, Dhananjaya from the Dubare camp, Ashwathama from the Doddaharave camp in Nagarahole, Chaitra and Lakshmi from the Bandipur Rampura camp.
34-year-old Ashwathama has gained entry for the first time. Lakshmi, the youngest elephant is taking part for the second time. The elephants’ procession (Gajapade) will start from Veeranahosahalli to Mysuru.
The Gajapade will commence on September 13 at 9.30 by offering pooja at Veernahosahalli and will arrive at Mysuru on September 16. It will be welcomed in front of the Ambavilasa palace as usual.
The inauguration of the Dasara celebrations will be held on October 7 at the Chamundi hills. Cultural programs will be held on all nine days inside the palace premises. Cultural programs will also be conducted inside the historic Nanjangud temple. The Nandi pooja will be held from 4.36 to 4.44 pm, on October 15 and the Jamboo Savari will commence between 5.00 pm to 5.36 pm.
Keywords: Mysore Dasara/ programs/ elephants list announced