MES loses in Belagavi Corporation elections: BJP creates history by getting absolute majority


Belagavi, September 6, 2021 ( Elections for the three City Corporations of the State were held on September 3, and the results were to be announced today. The BJP has created history in Belagavi City Corporation election by winning with an absolute majority.
The counting of the Belagavi City Corporation elections is completed and the BJP is all set to take over the power. BJP is successful in winning 36 seats, followed by Congress 9, Independent 9, MES 2, and MIM 1. Thus, the BJP has crossed the magic number to get the Mayor’s seat for the first time in Belagavi, causing humiliation to the MES.
The BJP is also leading in the Hubballi-Dharwad City Corporation elections. It has won in30 wards as of now, followed by Congress 17, independent 5.
However, Congress is leading in the Kalaburagi City Corporation elections. Congress leaders Eshwar Khandre and Cittapur MLA Priyank Kharge met D.K. Shivakumar at his Bengaluru residence today to plan a strategy to gain power in the Kalaburagi City Corporation.
Keywords: City Corporation elections/ Hubballi-Dharwad/ Belagavi/ Kalaburagi/ BJP/ Congress